Salary negotiations for a critical foreign tech expert

My negotiations with a new employer would soon start involving numbers. I don’t mean to come across as bragging but need accurate advice so I am couching the question in a way that is as close to, but as anonymous, as I feel is appropriate.

Prospective employer’s company is large; without going into details, their R&D budget (not revenue or profits) probably puts them in the top 25 if not top 10 companies in Taiwan. His company is also pivoting.

Because of the pivot, I would be in charge of a new R&D division within his company that is essential to the pivot being pulled off successfully, and would be reporting directly to the CEO.

I’m a scientist and not so good at being savvy at negotiations; I remember at my first job after finishing my PhD, I expected my first employer to treat a highly skilled professional with due respect, so when it came to salary negotiations and he asked how much I was expecting, I said the not-so-bright phrase “Whatever you think is fair.” :face_with_head_bandage: Clearly PhD material, right? :face_with_peeking_eye:

Of course I got the short end of the bargain, which I know for a fact after my PhD officemate at the same position as me, with the same qualifications and experience, got about 8% more because he asked for more and had the chutzpah to tell his would be boss, “If he doesn’t give this salary, he’s going to accept the job offer from a competitor (which he didn’t really have!)” The result was a couple of years of feeling underpaid and not pushing myself as much as I could have, and in fact your first salary frames things for your subsequent job…and then your next job etc.

I tell this story because I’m humbly accepting advice on how to negotiate my remuneration package! :slight_smile: