Saw another big bike rider today...with no clue

I was at a Yamaha shop near my house to buy some rear brake pads. He was out of stock and we chatted for a bit about the boat licensing story I wrote in here…and about how having a license for something doesn’t mean you can actually use it.

Then just when I started riding home from the shop I see a big bike approaching at a mild speed. I had my dogs running behind me so I watched with a smile as he passed me.

Then I see him do one of the most un-cool things I’ve ever seen done by someone on a nice bike. He does a half a lane change (moves from the right of the one lane to the left side of it) by throwing his body weight to the side so that his back was at a 90 degree angle to the bike.

You get that?

The bike was totally upright…and he heaved his body to the left in a quick jerky motion…just to move a few feet over. The guy had absofuckinglutley no clue on how to ride his bike.

I’d like to restate that their are many people out there who have been riding bikes their whole lives and don’t have a clue as to what counter steering is (and if you don’t either then do a search for it in this forum).

Thought it was worth writing about.

Sounds like he was used to riding a small scooter.

so far… of the hundreds upon hundreds of local big bike riders I’ve seen/met, I can count on two hands the number that “have a clue”… The rest have had varying degrees and combinations of “gung-ho” “misinformed” “ignorant” “dangerous” “arrogant” “naive” “unskilled” “over confident” “inexperienced” and “suicidal”…