Scholarship for PhD students - Only doing research in Taiwan

Hi,

I am in Taiwan to do research for studying on a PhD-program in my home country. Because I am already in Taiwan (I studied Chinese in Taiwan for one year some time), I can’t apply for the Taiwan scholarship provided by the Ministry of Education (MOE), because the application has to be made at the ROC oversear mission in the country of the applicant’s citizenship. I am now in Taiwan, already doing th research, but would be very helpful to get this kind of scholarship. If this is not possible to be in Taiwan or frequently travel back to my home country (Germany) are there other scholarships in Taiwan?

I know as student of Chinese there are some scholarships for studying Chinese. I am not enrolled at a university in Taiwan. I only being associated to a professor here in Taiwan. At the website of the MOE they suggest if you are a student in Taiwan then apply for scholarships at your (!) university in Taiwan.

Maybe I can attend university as a PhD-student, but then I have probably pay tuition…

What kind of opportunities do I have, e.g. other scholarships or just doing part time work and hope to finish the thesis within a reasonable amount of time?

If you want to attend a university here as a Ph.D. student, you’ll not only have to pay tuition, but you’ll have to take an entrance exam as well.

Unfortunately, it sounds like you won’t be able to get a scholarship while you’re here, unless your university back home offers some form of grant. You might want to check with them.

Some key points must be very clear. Who awards the degree? You write [quote]PhD-program in my home country[/quote].
That should imply that you don’t need to take the entrance exam as you are rather just doing a visiting exchange year so to speak.