Scooter Clanking Noise

Hey all,

So, my scooter’s developed sort-of a clanking noise coming from the steering column (dragon’s head) and it just sorta sounds like something’s clanking under there every few moments when I ride. I can feel a little of the vibration in the handles, too.

I took it to my mechanic, and he said something about “ku xiong” or something (I think those are the struts?) and that they’d need to be replaced. And he also said something about “kong zhuan” which I later looked up in the dictionary and translates to “locomotive wheel spin.” Now, I’m no licensed mechanic, but scooter wheels aren’t metal and neither are the roads that they ply - so how could there be any wheelspin?! How could any one wheel spin faster than the other while riding in normal circumstances?!

Anyway, for those of you in-the-know, is it dangerous to ride with crapped-out struts? I know that for cars, it’s okay if you don’t mind the discomfort. And, is it worth it for a 12-year-old scooter that would probably need constant repair as time wears on?

Any and all advice is welcome and appreciated!

Shawn :smiley:

Yes, it is dangerous to ride with crapped out suspension. A changes wheel bearing, new oil seals on the front forks, and even a new headset bearing shouldn’t cost more than 5 grand. Probably less.

Dragon’s head?

Twelve years? I’d be buyin’ a new one, personally.

[quote=“shawn_c”]
Anyway, for those of you in-the-know, is it dangerous to ride with crapped-out struts? I know that for cars, it’s okay if you don’t mind the discomfort. And, is it worth it for a 12-year-old scooter that would probably need constant repair as time wears on?[/quote]

It most definitely is dangerous. Worn out struts on a car can increase the potential stopping distance up to 20-30% at high speed, which is certainly not good.

kyb.com/motorist.htm