Seeking advice re children's education in Taiwan

Hello: I have lived in Taiwan 3+ years and occasionally read this forum – what a great resource for foreigners in Taiwan! Although I am not new to Taiwan, I am rather new to having soon-to-be school age children here and am seeking some advice regarding my children’s education. My son is 5 and is currently in local preschool/kindergarten. He has been there ever since he was a toddler. He used to speak Mandarin quite well, but we returned to the U.S. for 6 months (as our work requires), and he lost all ability to speak Mandarin while we were abroad. He is back in the same school in Taiwan (along with his brother and sister – twins – who are now also attending) and has over a year before starting first grade. I feel that he probably could do local public school here just fine – if he manages to re-gain his Mandarin before starting first grade. My husband and I both speak Mandarin well (my husband can also read a fair amount and I can read enough to get the basic gist of a notice sent home by the school, for example), and I feel sure that we would be able to communicate well with the teachers. I have read many other threads on this forum regarding local school for foreigners (and have talked with other foreigners as well), so I clearly understand what the challenges and advantages would be. I am also considering the possibility of sending him to a bilingual school, or one that would at least have the opportunity for some English instruction. My specific questions, then, are the following:

1. Can anyone comment specifically on experiences with any local primary schools in Shihlin/Tianmu area?
  2. Does anyone have experience with Hua Xing Private Elementary school? Or other bilingual schools in Taipei?
  3. Any comments/suggestions regarding re-learning of Mandarin after language loss has occurred? 

Thank you for any comments/suggestions!

[quote=“5intaiwan”]