Seemingly illogical constructions in Chinese

In my work, I often come across sentence structures that on face value look illogical.

Example: 我從小開始學鋼琴.

Now, the dictionary defines 從小 as “since childhood” or “from childhood”, and that’s what seems to be implied at the literal level. But “since childhood” implies “from that time all the way up to now, and possibly into the future”. But how can one continuously start to learn the piano throughout all that time? Starting is something done instantaenously.

So what is literally stated as “Since childhood I have started learning the piano” instead means “Since childhood I have been learning the piano”, or “As a child I started learning the piano”. (In practice, I would generally recast the sentence as “I started learning the piano as a child.”)

So it’s best to ignore what the dictionary says and what face-value logic would suggest, and interpret “從小” as meaning either “since childhood” or “as a child” depending on the context.

Another illogical construction I commonly see is 由於… , 讓 … This leads to a missing subject. But then this is Chinese: we don’t need no stinking subjects!

Example: 由於我的經驗, 讓我學到 X.

Literally: “Because of my experience, enabled me to learn X.” Perhaps better rendered as “My experience taught me X”, or “From my experience I learned X”.

I would never write such a sentence, for the reason you mention. Mine would say
由於我的經,我學到 X.
or
我的經驗讓我學到 X.

Do mine look better to a native speaker? Or would I be accused of writing “English” Chinese? No idea. :idunno:

I wouldn’t write a sentence like that either, but people here in Taiwan (no idea about the mainland) do it all the time… so much so that on a purely pragmatic level I’ve come to accept it as a valid sentence construction.

由於‧‧‧,讓 is considered ungrammatical and a common 「病句」 construct.