Sending a bicycle home?

I’m keen to send my recently purchased MTB back to South Africa. However I’ve never done this before.

Since I will be fully loaded-up (meeting or exceeding my 25kg luggage limit) when I go back I’m considering the best and most cost-effective way to get the bike there.

I’ll pack the bike in the original box.

Should I:

1. Use a parcel service like DHL or UPS? Sounds costly to me.
  2. Use the postal service? I believe a box cannot exceed 1m by 1m by 1m, so I guess that probably won’t be suitable.
  3. Use a shipping company?
  4. Use the airline I’m flying with, and pay for the extra weight? I’ve heard if you phone ahead, and the flight isn’t too packed they might let you put it on at no extra cost.
  5. Use an airline’s cargo service? I would send it ahead of my actual flight date - would I be able to drop it off at their offices in my city (Taichung)?

Your advice, experience, and suggestions please.

Cheers! :notworthy:

Hi, I’m certainly not an expert on this, I only know a little about the post office option-- I have heard of people sending their bikes back (to Canada, but what’s the difference?) through the post office.
I went there the other day, and what they told me was there’s a 20kg max, and that one side can’t exceed 1.5m
it gets a little more confusing than that though. You have to add up length, width, and height, multiply it by 2, then subtract the (now here’s where I’m not sure, maybe the length?), and it can’t be more than 300cm… or something like that :stuck_out_tongue: anyway, I think it’s worth it to double check with the post office because it might just be accepted.

otherwise, I’m sure there’s a reader out there somewhere who has sent a bike home an hopefully they’ll reply!