Serious hiking-questions

Hi all,

I want to do some hiking in the end of July, particulary Yishan. I know you need a permit to stay in the park or something like that. I’ve also heard that you have to hike with a group. Is this true? Is there a way to do it on one’s own? We’re experienced, fit hikers–it’s not like we’ll keel over on the trail. Any info?

Thanks!

As I am - I have been organising, leading and instructing hiking, rock climbing and I have some experience in mountaineering in various parts of the world, and I cannot get a permit to hike YuShan.

I signed up with a local professional guide who has lead teams to Patagonia and Denali, and they pulled his permit a week before we were to go. I have been trying for over a year - it is not straightforward.

Another time, I organised a group to Mt Snow, and got up there ready for a weekend of hiking and they decided to close the park and sent us back. I spoke to some local guides when I got back and they were not aware it was closed but sometimes they do these things.

There is an option to enter from the northern route without permit and take your chances with the moutain police…

Taiwan has rules, and that is that.

Best to contact a hiking club or mountain guide and hope you are lucky. FreshTreks (http://www.freshtreks.com) sometimes go, but not in the next month.

I don’t know, my experience climbing Snow Mountain was that it is very straightforward getting a permit. Just apply and if there is space in the cabins you get it. Yushan can be crowded which may be why you can’t get a permit but I have not heard of others having a problem. I even know of one fellow who just went up by himself and managed to get in with a group that had a cancelled member. I think you are just having bad luck.

Have you tried applying for a mid-week hike? Much better chance of getting a bed.