Shanghai versus Beijing for non-teaching jobs

Which city is the best to find a non-teaching job in China?

I am American, 31 years old. I have no experience other than teaching and writing business materials.

I currently have an F Visa valid until November.

To be honest, you’re not going to get far with that. China is crawling with foreign experts with PhDs coming out their ears.

I was reading in the local [strike]propaganda[/strike] newspaper that there’s a booming business in ‘foreign faces’. Basically, some tinpot Chinese company hires a foreigner or two to sit in on meetings with foreign companies - they don’t actually have to do anything, just sit there and look foreign. Their rationale is that the foreign company will be impressed that the local (Chinese) company has enough cash and cachet to hire a foreigner. Obviously, it’s a complete waste of time - the foreign reps probably go back to their hotel and laugh themselves silly about this hicks-from-the-sticks tactic - but the pay can be high, $100-200 for a half-day’s “work”. You might be a little on the young side though; apparently the preferred age range is 40s-50s so that you look like a “manager”.

Another option would be modelling, if you’ve got the looks for it. For similar reasons to the above, foreign faces seem to be in demand on promotional materials etc. Find an agency.

Have you considered NGO work? I understand the Chinese government is now permitting some limited interference by foreigners in certain areas.

Also … why head for a big city? You might find some of the brand-new ‘frontier towns’ more interesting, and you probably have less chance of developing a respiratory disease or a taxi-driver-induced broken leg.

Actually I am not looking for a job doing nothing. What would the point of that be?

I would really love to learn another Chinese dialect.

Ohok … well … in that case the point would be to leave enough time for your studies while getting the bills paid :smiley: