ShiDa good for beginners?

Anybody know how Shida (in Taipei) is for beginners? Do you recommend it for that level?

If you have the money, it’s ok. It gives you structure that a lot of the cheaper schools don’t. If you’re motivated, disciplined and have clear goals, you could probably do the same on your own or at one of the cheaper schools. Yeah, I think it’s an ok place to start and since motivation and discipline aren’t necessarily part of the make-up of most of us, I’d recommend it. You may find that after you’ve studied there for a couple of semesters, you are ready to go out on your own. The key is getting started.

The big problem with Shida is that their class sizes have gotten to be so big. A class of more than five students is not conducive to learning a second language, but they’ve got classes now of 15-20 students … definitely not a good environment for learning, especially if you’re a beginner.

Wow! I had no idea. When I studied there, class size was limited to five students. Now it’s 15-20? On second thought, it probably isn’t the best place to start.

Hi there…

well i’m at Shi Da now and there are only 10 of us in my class…

in London i’ve been in classes with 25-30 which can be a bit ridiculous… a class of 5 or less would be great but a bit out of my budget…

Im on the second book (xia level) the atmosphere in our class is really good but i think this depends more on your teacher and class mates.

…This is only my first semester here … so i can’t really compare it to any other courses in Taipei

Its a well known fact though so i probably dont need to point it out but in case you dont know - their admin s*cks though…