Should I bother...?

I’m wanting to gain something practical out of another language. I’m only fluent in my own native English language. I’m definately not wanting to stay here more then 1 year and will be leaving Taiwan in August. (in 9 months)

I have my degree back in Canada in Computers but I’m too obsessed with Travel to settle down in a computer job. I’m trying to find work in Western Europe after here so I can learn a European language.

Okay, I’m just blabbing on now… What I’m wondering is, should I be spending money on actual Chinese classes in a school if I know I’m not staying any longer then 9 more months? Will it be worth it? Or should I just spend money on some more books and CDs to gain a better understanding and confidence of this Chinese language?

Or my second option would be to forget Chinese altogether now and just concentrate on studying the European language?

Thanks.

I would say don’t bother. Chinese is awfully difficult; 9 months of desultory study won’t do much. You also don’t need it to live comfortably here.

For me, learning to speak, read, and/or write Mandarin well requires a deep commitment to hard-core study and burning desire to know.

I don’t think it is worth it to study Mandarin unless you are going to learn it well.

If you have to ask whether it is worth it or not, I’d say you already have your answer.

I guess I’m just not expressing myself as well as I would like. :unamused:

I do have a strong desire to know the language, I find the Chinese spoken and written language very interesting! Everytime I see some Chinese characters, I get overwhelmed and say to myself “how can anyone learn what those say?!”.

I’m just wondering if I should continue studying Chinese for the next 9 months or if I should get a head start studying the European language that I will probably use far more then I will ever use Chinese. (unless I can find a use for what Chinese I learn in these 9 months of course)