Should I build or buy?

So I’m thinking I want something to put next to tv so I can watch all my HD movies and listen to all my music but I don’t want to fork out 30,000 for a new laptop and a regular desktop will just look ugly. I like the look of the asus cs5100 range of mini pcs but they’re a tad expensive. So here’s my question … can anyone recommend a good mini pc that will hook up to my 720 tv. It would be nice to have a wireless card in it too so I can watch streaming stuff. Or on the other hand would it cost much to build one yourself, bear in mind I’ve never done anything like this before but I wouldn’t mind having a go at it.

off the top of my head, I’d say DIY or you might want to talk to the sponsor that builds computers.

It would be very inexpensive for you to build. You don’t need top of the line gaming equipment to run this. I use an 8year old dell laptop I found myself.

What do you need videocard wise to do that though, to get that quality of output? And do you need eg a DVI output? How about for 1080p?

I’ve got a PS3 that has a USB in the front, but when I try to play the majority of stuff I d/l I find it doesn’t play mp3 or AVI, so I guess I gotta go right into the TV?

it’d be great if I could just plug my external HD into the back of the TV…

Ok, first of all, why does it have to be a PC?
You’re only going to use it for watching movies and listen to music, right?

I think this will be great blog.boxee.tv/2009/12/09/step-1- … ut-a-hole/ but sadly isn’t not out for a few months yet…

However, there are similar devices on sale here already such as:
shopping.pchome.com.tw/?mod=item … 35&ROWNO=4 (no idea who makes this)
shopping.pchome.com.tw/?mod=item … 35&ROWNO=1 (by Asus)
shopping.pchome.com.tw/?mod=item … P&ROWNO=16 (by ViewSonic)
shopping.pchome.com.tw/?mod=item … P&ROWNO=21 (by Zinwell)
shopping.pchome.com.tw/?mod=item … 2432&c=A05 (by Western Digital)

Only problem would be that none of them support WiFi, but all have Ethernet connectivity…