Should I get TEFL/TESOL?

Can anybody tell me if they feel that getting a TEFL/TESL certification benefited them in any way when doing their job? I have a four year degree and I’m quite confident in my writing skills, but I fear that the kids are going to be testing me and laughing at me for my lack of knowledge in grammer. Should I fork out the extra bucks and spend an extra month to get certified?

I used to think it did not matter much, but as it appears, in order to do testing such as IELTS, BULETS, UCLES, etc, you will need some kind of certificate such as RSA, DELTA, CELTA or TESOL.
Unfortunately, you cannot do these courses in Taiwan if you’re foreign (somebody prove me wrong). I’ve tried to get information from the British Council about this to no avail. As I know, the nearest (and perhaps cheapest) place to Taiwan to get certified is Thailand. They run TESOL, CELTAs and DELTAs every month or so in Bangkok. It’s not necessary to have one in Taiwan to do general teaching, but you never know when it may just come in handy.
Although I’m doing a Masters,I don’t understand why I cannot do these testings which my friends do to earn extra money, because I’ve loads of experience.
Think it’s another case of how a little piece of paper (no matter how attained), can actually be quite beneficial.
I also heard recently that some of the big kiddie schools pay more to those who’ve completed a course. One friend told me she was actually able to get ‘back pay’–imagine that–when she told her school she had one after having worked there for a year. From then on she got $20 more per hour, and they handed her a big packet of cash adding up to all the hours worked previously in which she should have earned that much more due to the Cert.
So, yes, I would get one if I were you.

For Taiwan or South Korea, I wouldn’t bother as the money and time is wasted.