Should I take this contract?

Hi all,

I’ve taught in Taiwan before but I’m trying to decide between two options at the moment and could use some help.

I’m a fully qualified teacher currently supplying in London, England. I plan on working at an international school in September 2010. At the moment, supply teaching here is really getting me down (long commutes, annoying older kids, terrible weather) and so I sought out a short-term contract in Taiwan. I should also mention that, for personal reasons, I hadn’t planned to be in London at this time of the year. But, eh, life happens.

Dewey has offered me a job in Yilan with a high school. Jan-June deal at 60,000 a month. I’ve been making these pro/con lists for a few days and can’t wrap my head around the move. I don’t care about the money too too much. 60,000 a month in Yilan is probably better than supply teaching pay in London. I searched through here and have read the opinions on Dewey. I get it. But could they really screw me that bad with this thing? Could the high school be far too rural to have good materials? Is the simple fact that they even want someone for only a six month contract a warning sign? Is it worth all the hassle finding an apartment/scooter? (I do speak fair Mandarin btw).

Any advice at all would be great.

Thanks,
GDT

[quote=“GDT”]Hi all, I’ve taught in Taiwan before but I’m trying to decide between two options at the moment and could use some help.

I’m a fully qualified teacher currently supplying in London, England. I plan on working at an international school in September 2010. At the moment, supply teaching here is really getting me down (long commutes, annoying older kids, terrible weather) and so I sought out a short-term contract in Taiwan. I should also mention that, for personal reasons, I hadn’t planned to be in London at this time of the year. But, eh, life happens. Dewey has offered me a job in Yilan with a high-school. Jan-June deal at 60,000 a month.