Should I work in Taiwan or stay in the U.S.? (graduating fro

Hi Everyone,

I’m graduating from a U.S. university soon and am still looking for a job. So far, I’ve found nothing.

I’m Chinese, born in America (ABC)…specifically, New Jersey. Last summer was the first time that I’ve ever been in Taiwan (first time not being in the U.S. as well). During my 3-month stay in Taipei (to advance my Chinese studies), I’ve experienced many of the difficulties that anyone unfamiliar with Taiwanese ways would face. However, I ultimately liked Taiwan very much. So now here I am in my final year of college and am faced with the situation of finding a career or some path to follow. I am double majoring in Economics and Chinese and am wondering if there are opportunities for me in Taiwan (preferrably Taipei). I would consider myself to be a “lower-advanced” Chinese level speaker and have no problems with communicating in the language (deep business-related issues would be a problem—still working on it though). I am currently studying at the business level of chinese and hope to have a career some day that may utilize it. The main problem is…I don’t know what I could do in Taiwan with my credentials.

I don’t think I would mind having lower wages in Taiwan, compared to those in the U.S. Besides, the standard of living is lower in Taiwan and the food is great! So anyway, I would like to know if any of you can offer some advice for my situation. Should I stay in the U.S. or head to Taiwan? Keep in mind that I’m about to graduate from college.

Thanks for any advice. I look forward to your replies!

You must have some idea what you want to do!?

And are you sure the standard of living here is so much cheaper? Housing in Taipei certainly is not cheap. And the food … well, matter of taste perhaps.

Hi there,