Singaporean looking to relocate to Taichung

Hi all,

This forum has been very informative and I was looking through at possibilities to relocate to Taiwan for a few years, in the hopes of getting a work permit, resident visa, ARC and finally APRC etc.

I have 7 years of experience in overseas business development/sales in various industries, media/shipping/design. I am bilingual in English & Mandarin, I know a little 台語 too, enough to make Taiwanese laugh their heads off. :discodance:

I enquired about tourist visa, but the maximum period they could allow was 60 days, without extension (TECO thinks to tour around entire Taiwan, 2 months should suffice. :unamused: )

I was hoping to come on tourist visa first, attend some interviews and hopefully to get a work permit in the process. Having a tourist visa will be helpful for companies to convert into resident visa, if I should get a willing employer right?

Just want to check if Singaporeans would be considered as a non-native English speakers as well?

Any successful stories of Singaporeans who have successfully relocated to Taiwan, please share your stories!

Any advice/tips any forum-goers could share, I thank you in advance! :slight_smile:

Hi fellow Singaporean,

I am also a Singaporean who has been here for 8 years and counting. To answer your questions, Singapore are NOT consider as native English speaker so you are not qualified for a teaching permit. Your only chance is to work for a company. The advantage for Singaporean is our bi-lingual so use that to your advantage. I was working at Taichung for about 1 year, but did not like the job (Taichung is mostly manufacturing company) so I moved back to Taipei. Anyway wish you luck in finding a job here

Hi, Malaysian here, I am interest to work at Taiwan also, may I know how can I get a job at there but i’m staying in Malaysia now

you can always try the job site in Taiwan. The most popular site is www.104.com.tw

[quote=“bartman76”]Hi fellow Singaporean,