Southern mountains hikable during Jan-Feb?

Hello,

I’m newbie here and thinking about moving to southern Taiwan (Kaohsiung) 2009 January-February (I’m currently living in Finland, Europe). The reason is to experience the beautiful mountains, hiking, camping, biking, possibly canoeing.

My question is is the time ok? What are the conditions in 3 km high mountains during Jan-Feb?

I’m an experienced trekker, and can handle temperatures near or below zero, walk uphill 1 km a day with 20+ kg load. See the video from my home country Finland (while I was one week in north):
youtube.com/watch?v=lgI-N6hIIdY

Nevertheless I would rather like to go to mountains during sunny days (or partly cloudy, at least not continuous rain…), temperature being between +7 and +17 Celsius. Are my expectations right for Jan-Feb?

Thanks in advance!

Mr. Janne Pyykkö, Espoo, Finland, Europe

PS. If yes, I have a lot more to ask…

Bei Da Yu Shan, the most southern of the 3,000m peaks is very climbable in January/february. approach from PingTung county. minimum overnight temp in the hut at 2,400 m is about 3-5 degrees, max would be about 7-10 degrees, and it freezes on the top at about 3,100m. it is easily possible to do it in 2 days if you’re fit.

Jade Mountain (Yu Shan), at 3990 or whatever, and Snow Mountain , further north at 3800m, are snowbound and dangerous (unless you have mountaineering experience and equipment) and most likely closed at that time.

Thanks for a quick response! :notworthy:

Sounds good! OK, next I’ll need a guidebook and map from Amazon to explore more about Bei Da Yu Shan and Pingdong county. Lonely Planet or Rough Guide?

Another thing: My idea is to live near Kaohsiung 4-6 weeks (near Cheng Ching Lake?). I hope to remote-work 3-4 days a week (high speed internet necessary!). Going by bike to explore places is my way to get familiar with the country. Does this make sense? :unamused: