Spore

The Creature Creator has been released.

Fun stuff. I’ll definitely be getting the full game when it’s released.

Why pay for something that comes with the game anyway? Patience, my pet, patience…

There’s a free trial version of the creature creator. That’s what I’m playing with. :slight_smile:

I’ve been playing with the real thing today, yep it’s out finally. I’m not very good at it yet. And it’s sickeningly cute.

Read a fairly negative review of it today… first negative one I’ve seen.
Claimed it was more of a smart toy to play around with than a game to play through; but that approached worked well enough with The Sims.

Has it been worth the wait?

Haven’t played the game, but there are a few bits of warning you should look at.

Due to EA’s DRM (Digital Rights Management) policy, it is receaving a lot of negative reveiws on online sites like Amazon.com. The worst part of the new DRM is that you can only install your copy of Spore 3 times, ever. To make this clear, deleting the game and re-installing it on the same machine does not count, however, if you install it on another machine or after a OS re-install it does count. So for those that often have to re-install thier OS, I would advise not getting the game as you will have to buy another copy after the third install.

This is all done in the attempt to stop piracy of the game. But EA apparently has no idea how to stop it. This game will be cracked and on the net in a few weeks, for those that have no moral objection to pirated software, enjoy. The “honest” folk will be the ones suffering after the third activation as your game become a $50US coaster.