Statement of work experience

Does anyone know how obtaining a “statement of work experience” works? I am trying to obtain a work visa. I am from the US and I was hired my an engineering company here in Hsinchu. I have a BS degree in a related field. Any help would be appreciated.

Tim

I would think you’d need to go to your previous employer and ask him/her for a letter of reference stating that you have the necessary related work experience.
If you are a new graduate without work experience (2 years is the minimum, I believe), it will pretty difficult if not impossible to get a resident visa sponsored by your employer, which is what I think you mean by a “work” visa.

A PC with a color printer can also solve the problem.

However, that’s illegal.

You can just ask for a vague letter of reference. I got one stating that I had worked for a company for 4 years and that they liked me. I free-lanced for them every summer…

They don’t check the reference…keep it simple and plain…

Careful there, honcho. I’ve had three previous employers here, all unrelated to teaching. Every one of them did indeed check my references, both from here and from the UK. There again, maybe that was because of my disreputable appearance.

Neither, my work experience nor my college degree were never verified by my employer, nor by the government. However, I wouldn’t totally make it up just in case as it is pretty easy to check on.

“[quote]If you are a new graduate without work experience (2 years is the minimum, I believe), it will pretty difficult if not impossible to get a resident visa sponsored by your employer, which is what I think you mean by a “work” visa.”[/quote]

Hmm, thats not good. Difficult if not impossible? Then what can I do? What should I do to legally work?
Thanks for the help.

Tim