Statements about the Iraq war: Misperceptions or misleading?

But Bush talks the ‘democracy and sovereignty’ talk while walking this walk: globalsecurity.org/military/ … y/iraq.htm
:which everyone on the ground in Iraq is seeing firsthand.

Even I’m skeptical about Bush’s intentions in Iraq and I’m about as :slight_smile: unbiased :slight_smile: as they come.

I truly don’t understand how the perennially skeptical Bush supporters can fail to see the credibility chasm they’ve created in the minds of the people they expect and need cooperation from.

Spook:

What is your point? That we have bases in Iraq and that we planned on leaving them there a long time. Yup. So what’s your point? I have been saying this for 2 years. You didn’t remember? You think no one else knows? This is supposed to be a secret? No.

Why will there be bases in Iraq? Because the nature of the country and the region is that with 35K to 50K troops, we provide the important counterweight so no one group can sabotage the country’s political levers and by having our troops there, no Syria or Iran invasion or infiltration (though for the latter we still have our work cut out for us don’t we?)

What is so difficult to understand about this and if we did not loot Germany, Japan, South Korea or the Philippines despite our bases, why would we do so in Iraq? Did we in Saudi Arabia? Did we in Qatar or Bahrain? Leave the conspiracy theories alone for a while and realize that the presence of US troops has often meant stability both internally and regionally and has led to improved human rights and democracy within the countries where America and Americans have been most involved. No?

[quote=“fred smith”]Spook:

What is your point? That we have bases in Iraq and that we planned on leaving them there a long time. [/quote]

"At an April 2003 press conference, Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld said any suggestion that the US is planning a permanent military presence in Iraq is “inaccurate and unfortunate.”