Status for our daughter after she is born

My wife (a Taiwanese) and I (an American) are expecting our first child (a girl) in early December. What I don’t know is the following:

How should I register her with U.S. authorities to make sure she gets her American citizenship? Would we use the Chinese name we will give her or the Western name (they have been chosen already, but we don’t know the rules in this regard.)

Will she have Taiwanese citizenship and if so, what are the pros and cons of obtaining it? Since she is a girl, she won’t have to face military service.

Is there anything else I should know?

Thanks in advance.

I’m no expert on this, but I think I saw quite a few posts regarding this topic on this very forum.

I guess it would depend on where she is born. I believe she would automatically be a US citizen if you are one regardless of where she’s born, although you might want to double-check if both parents need to be US citizens. I think only one is needed.

[quote=“ludahai”]My wife (a Taiwanese) and I (an American) are expecting our first child (a girl) in early December. What I don’t know is the following:

How should I register her with U.S. authorities to make sure she gets her American citizenship? Would we use the Chinese name we will give her or the Western name (they have been chosen already, but we don’t know the rules in this regard.)

Will she have Taiwanese citizenship and if so, what are the pros and cons of obtaining it? Since she is a girl, she won’t have to face military service.

Is there anything else I should know?

Thanks in advance.[/quote]

Yo New Hampshire… Check out this site

bcis.gov/graphics/index.htm

Specifically
bcis.gov/graphics/publicaffa … chowto.htm

[quote]The Child Citizenship Act (CCA) which becomes effective on February 27, 2001, amends the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) to provide U.S. citizenship to certain foreign-born children