Sticky Situation

I’ve got a serious mess on my hands… I’m wondering if some of the more experienced folks might be able to help me out.

I’m a college student studying chinese here with a program during my summer break. The program is at TaiDa and after attending the orientation on thurs it appears it will be very intensive.

My taiwanese friend got me a job teaching english at Mircrochip Company (NDSQ listed) where he’s pals with an executive. I got here a few weeks before classes began, so I started working there 12 hours per week. Futhermore, I am living in an apartment owned by the company, though I do pay NT10,000 monthly (its a great location, utl. and maid incl). I get paid NT600/hr. I’m here on a student visa. I don’t need the cash from this job, I’ve got some money saved up.

I think this job has the potential to seriously ruin my summer.

It will force me to have a high stress, extremely busy summer where I do nothing but work. As opposed to a summer where I work hard studying chinese, but still have time to make friends and go to the KTV etc.

I’m paying USD3,000 to attend this program for the summer, and I think the job is going to get in the way of my learning chinese (which is the FIRST reason I came here) I don’t give a damn about teaching english, I want to learn chinese. I talked with my supervisor, and she basically told me that she’s the one who gets screwed if I leave, because she just came to the company and if this course falls through “no one will trust her.” Likewise I understand it would be a huge loss of face and incredible insult if I were to walk away from the favor-given job (which I never really wanted!)

They way I see it I can:

1. Walk: Get a new apartment, leave, screw everyone at once and not worry about the mess. I can make new friends. (i.e. The American Way!)