Study in Hsinchu and live in Taipei

Hello there,

I’m a French student and I’m gonna be for six months at the NCTU in Hsinchu. I wanted to know if it was feasible to study there while living in Taipei (without a car or scooter, only with train, bus etc.). I don’t have any specific location in mind but I feel that it will be a more pleasant place to live, with more bars, restaurants, the train station and the airport to travel easily if I have a few days etc.

Thank you for your advices !

If you try this you will soon be exhausted. My advice is to try to set yourself up in Hsinchu, and go and enjoy Taipei on the weekends or other times that you wish.

Best regards,
Guy

5 Likes

If you wanna try, there is an unlimited for-student TRA (regular train) ticket.
NT$ 599 (valid for 5 days), NT$ 799 (valid for 7 days), NT$ 1098 (valid for 10 days)
Need to show student ID when buying.

Also available 30 days and 60 days tickets.
http://www.railway.gov.tw/en/CP.aspx?sn=16972&n=19588

Without any special discount card, a single trip cost NT$177.

Mind you, NCTU is not located within walking distance from Hsinchu Train Station.

There are buses from several spots in Taipei, but it’s very limited (only available at certain hours, like morning and afternoon). I know one from NTUST bus stop.
Will need to confirm the bus number later on.
While it’s cheap, and (I remember goes directly to NCTU), it took like 2 hours trip.

Taiwan Rail is not the best way to get from Taipei to the NTHU/NCTU area–it’s not time efficient or cost efficient.

Heaps of highway buses make the connection more quickly and more cheaply. Pace arcticsquid, these highway buses are not restricted to morning and afternoon.

But the question is not whether such transport connections exist; it’s whether doing this on a daily basis would work. Everyone I know who has tried this commute eventually gave up.

Best wishes,
Guy