Studying at NCTU and living in Hsinchu

Hey guys,

I spent this last summer doing the intensive Chinese language program at National Taiwan University. It was a great experience and made me really enjoy Taiwan and learning Chinese.

I am a university Computer Science student in the U.S. and did not forsee any soon return to Taiwan, but my university recently offered a program to study at NCTU (nctu.edu.tw/english/index.html). According to my university’s brochure, only a number of ECE (Electrical and Computer Engineering) courses are offered in English each semester. I have finished all my ECE requirements and would have to take Computer Science courses instead. Does anyone know if NCTU offers any Computer Science courses in English, or if I would be able to handle them given my limited Chinese experience (3 semesters at university & 1 intensive summer program).

Also, how does NCTU match up with other universities? How do you rate Hsinchu as a city to live in for a foreigner? And are Taiwanese university students inclusive or nice to an odd-ball foreigner in their classes?

Thanks~~

Hey Torper :slight_smile:

I don’t know about the universities here in Xinzhu (or Taiwan for that matter) but I can give you some info about what it’s like to live here, even though I’ve only been here about 2 weeks.

• There’s a sizeable expat community living here who are mostly engineers from the Science Park and/or English teachers. But you’ll obviously see fewer foreigners here than Taipei.

• Nightlife is a bit limited to drinking and eating from what I have heard. I haven’t had much of a chance to try the nightlife out much but my partner has spent 6 months here prior to my arrival and he’s felt a little bored with the place.