Suggestions: Agent or no?

Hi,

I’m trying to complete the patchwork quilt that appears to be a common method of teaching English here. That is to say, a piece of this, and a piece of that, and all together, full-time hours.

I have something for the evenings that I think will work out OK. I’d like to add something during the day, mornings preferably. I have a CELTA, MBA, and very limited EFL experience.

I’m at the point where I’ve exhausted the Tealit.com choices, and now am wondering about another method. I’m in the Beitou area, and would like to work closer to home for the daytime stint (defined as Shilin to Danshui). I’m a little hesitant to wander through the “neighborhood” knocking on kindergarten or buxiban doors, mainly because I speak so little Chinese.

So, thoughts about using an agent? Know any decent ones?

Other suggestions or methods?

Thanks in advance for the tips,

Seeker4

Stay away from agents as far as possible. However, if you already have a steady source of income, it wont hurt to use one. I haven’t met an honest agent yet and I have been here for a very long time.

Another way of making extra income is proofreading documents or thesis. I once helped a friend with her thesis and since then more and more work has come my way.

Well that makes perfect sense :homer:

Knocking on doors is really going to be the best method. Remember that these places are English schools and therefore there will more than likely (no guarantees) be someone there who will be able to help you.

It is pretty stupid to suggest that ALL agents are bad. Of course there are some good agents out there, but regardless you don’t really need one. Bear in mind that what you are looking for technically constitutes illegal work and therefore any agent that took on your case is unlikely to be the sort of agent that you want to deal with.