Suggestions on sharing the pie?

Say there’s a company with one sleeping partner and two other partners who work in the company. Say they have each put an equal amount of money into it. What would be a reasonable share for each person?

Should the working partners have a bigger share of the profit: say two fifths each? Or should they be paid a salary plus one third of the profit?

I realise that there are probably many ways to do this, but I have no experience of this kind of stuff and would like to get some idea of how things are normally done.

Thanks for any tips.

Good grief! You’re asking us to comment on a bet before it’s been dealt?

OK: Working partners should get more, depending on performance. Sleeper should get more if they invest more, and if they are the main supply of liquid capital.

Thanks for the reply.

[quote=“TheGingerMan”]OK: Working partners should get more, depending on performance. Sleeper should get more if they invest more, and if they are the main supply of liquid capital.[/quote]As I said, let’s assume an equal amount of investment from each of three partners.

How would one go about measuring performance? It seems to me that trying to negotiate profit shares after money has been made could stir up a lot of trouble. This is why I thought it would be better to have these things agreed upon and put into a contract in the beginning.

I might be wrong about this. As I said, I have little experience in business and so would appreciate specific suggestions. In particular, I’d like to know what is commonly done on the issue of salary v.s. larger profit share.

If equal invested, the sleeping partner should only participate in the profit, not getting a salary.