Surfing and Teaching

Hello Everyone. I am an experienced TEFL teacher and avid surfer. I’m moving to Taiwan this summer to find the perfect balance between getting paid and getting barreled. If you have any advice about finding good jobs with surf access, please please please help me out.

I need to make money, but I also need to be close to the surf.

Thanks!

I knew a lot of teachers working in Pingtung who would make the trek to Kenting most weekends to surf (about a 2-hour drive if I can remember correctly). You can also access Kenting quite easily from Kaosiung; it is probably about the same distance as it is from Pingtung.

Taidung is also a big surfing area, but I’m not sure how the job market is there (I don’t think there is much of one, actually) or how far it is from a more metropolitan area where jobs are readily available.

Taiwan is a great place to surf, I think you’ll enjoy it. Have fun and and good luck! :thumbsup:

Ilan and Hualien (and maybe Dulan? Though I have never been there) are your best bets. I have friends in both who surf daily and yell at kids a bit on the side.

Work is sparse down there though so prepare to live like a serf while you surf.

Thanks for the responses! I don’t mind living like a serf as long as I can find employment. The thought of commuting from work to surf, or from surf to work is totally an option for me.

I’m prepared to move to Taiwan this August. Do you recommend I sign a contract with a big school before coming? Or is it better to hit the pavement and make my decision of where I want to live and work after seeing the country and going to some interviews? I’ve got the start up money, and location is important to me, so can I find work without signing up with someone before I jump on the plane?

[quote=“Brendo123”]Thanks for the responses! I don’t mind living like a serf as long as I can find employment. The thought of commuting from work to surf, or from surf to work is totally an option for me.