Switching from ARC to student visa

Hello,

I am currently a teacher in Taiwan and have an ARC card and National Health Insurance. I am here for 14 months and my current ARC is valid until October 2009.

Now I would like to quit my job and become a full-time student of Chinese. According to my Visa Q&A from 1 1/2 years ago I would have to leave the country and come back on a student visa (i.e. a visitor visa with the purpose of being a student).

My questions are:
1.) Is it (still) inevitable that I leave the country after I quit my job? Will my current ARC become invalid if this happens?
2.) Is there an option that my employer keeps me employed with “zero” salary? (According to information from other threads the answer appears to be “No” since I would have to work for at least 14 hours a week. Although I couldn’t find information on the minimal salary I would need to receive for these 14 hours.)

Assuming that my ARC becomes invalid:
3.) When I come back would it take me 4 months to get a new ARC card? (According to info on this board the answer is “Yes” for new students, but maybe it’s different if I have been here already for some time.)
4.) Can and/or will I still receive National Health Insurance?
5.) If the answer to four is “No”, what should I do then? What do other students of Chinese do without access to health insurance?

6.) Any other information or experience someone can share?

Thanks in advance,
Jade_mountain

there are probably people here to better answer this question, but I am pretty sure that:

-you must leave the country to get a new visa.