Taipei, China?

I was just reading about the Thomas and Uber Cups on the CCTV website. The Chinese are changing the status quo by referring to Taiwan as China, Taipei 中国台北队 - a designation that differs from the official Chinese Taipei.

cctv.com/news/sports/badmint … 3940.shtml
It’s on the sixth paragraph.

[quote=“ludahai”]I was just reading about the Thomas and Uber Cups on the CCTV website. The Chinese are changing the status quo by referring to Taiwan as China, Taipei 中国台北队 - a designation that differs from the official Chinese Taipei.

cctv.com/news/sports/badmint … 3940.shtml
It’s on the sixth paragraph.[/quote]
Glad to see you’re working on your Chinese and all… by reading the mainland press, no less. But you’re wrong on this point. Beijing has been calling the Taipei representatives ‘zhongguo taibei’ for as far back as I can remember. No change, just status quo.

I read the Mainland press to maintain my ability to read simplified characters which I studied when I lived in China. I am far better with traditional characters now.

Still, it IS a change because the official nomenclature is CHINESE Taipei, NOT China, Taipei. It is CHINA making the unacceptable change. I have heard that there is pressure to force this new moniker on Taiwan by the 2008 Olympics, though I have no links on that at this point.

ludahai, I think you are confused. The IOC designation has been Chinese Taipei, that’s right, but the mainland has always called it 中国台北. Taiwan calls it something different, of course. Technically, 中国台北 isn’t wrong for Chinese Taipei, either. Chinese Taipei, simply put, could be the Taipei of China, or the Taipei of the Chinese, depending on your political leanings. That is the point – Chinese Taipei is one name with different interpretations, so blue, red, green can all grudgingly accept.