Taipei to ban beverage stores from using disposable plastic cups

I can’t wait to see how this plays out.

They’re targeting beverage shops specifically but what about every other restaurant or store or place that uses plastic cups.

Taipei says so they going to do it in 4 months without giving any options when they have two years to work on it.

Supposed to be final Taiwan-wide by the end of 2024.

Straws are banned also but that didn’t last.

Unless I’m missing something this will negatively affect the bottom line of most beverage shops.

1 Like

So what are people going to use instead? It isn’t like taking your coffee cup. A lot of drink purchases are spur of the moment. Paper cups which have a plastic film over them?

The shops are going to lose a lot of business.

3 Likes

Stupid. I’ve been bringing my own stainless cup to get drinks for at least a few years now. They always give me a straw because drinking out of a stainless straw is a legitimate danger to ones safety (chipped teeth, impalement) (I could switch to silicone I guess, but how much waste goes into making the reusable straws and cups vs. the disposable ones?)

Common sense and actual research shows that charging for a cup/bag makes consumers change their habits more quickly. A few universities tried this — they lowered the cost of the drinks in the cafe by 30 cents (US$) and then charged 30 cents for the disposable cup if you didn’t bring one. Keep in mind an expensive disposable cup is only like 5 cents, so this wasn’t profit-seeking / financially beneficial to the cafe.