Taitung 2 Tainan travel

Can anyone recommend interesting sites and places to visit in Taitung and along the southern cross island highway to Tainan?
Like,
camping places,
B & Bs
nature parks,
hikes,
places to visit
amusement parks (heard there’s one near Tainan, but don’t exactly where, or name)
waterfalls,
beaches,
hotsprings (not the expensive Chihpen)
etc.
Would love to hear from those who’ve discovered some unique and/or beautiful locales down there. Planning weeklong travel and will drive.
Thanks!

I’ve cycled a lot in that area but I’m not good at remembering names. Still, a few places:

North of Taitung on the coast road there’s a funky cafe run by a couple of Osho Baghneesh followers. Down on the beach; you can camp there, hang out with them. They serve terrible ice coffee, be warned. Where is it? Well at some point the road is right by the beach. It’s there, sign by the road, palm trees behind, Orchid Island further behind on a clear day.

Further up, on the inland road (don’t know how far up you plan on traveling), the hills where they grow day lilies (jinzhen hua, what you see floating in soup) are very beautiful, like nowhere I know in Taiwan. Two areas: Chikeshan赤柯山and Liushishishan which is further south.
You climb 900m above the rift valley to get to them. Up there are rolling meadows, irregular fields of lilies and tea, scattered trees. View down the rift valley. An idyll. The lilies flower and are picked September to November, but the scenery is worth the trip at any time. You can easily find places to stay in the farm/guest houses.

There are two hot springs called “Hung-yeh” (red leaves) along the rift valley, both not over-developed. The more well-known one is near the village of Hung-yeh just north of the turn off for the cross island highway, which has a small museum to its little league world baseball championship winning team. (the other is in Hualien County near the Juisui hot springs)