Taiwan Hospitals?

Hi,

I’m a Canadian medical student that will be in taiwan for 1 month doing a clinical experience exchange in a university affiliated hospital.

There are 5 cities I have the possiblity of going to: Taipei, Taichung, Tainan, Kaoshiung, and Hualien.

Here is the list of universities:

Taipei:

1)National Taiwan University
2)Yang Ming University
3)Taipei Medical University
4)National Defence Medicine Center
5)Chang Gung University

Taichung:

1)Chung Shan Medical University
2)China Medical University(CMU)
3)China Medical University(CMUC)

Tainan:

National Cheng-Kung University

Kaoshiung:

Kaohsiung Medical University

Hualien:

Tzu Chi University

In general, how are the hospitals and doctors like in Taiwan? Is there a hospital that is much better or worse than the others (say in Taipei)? How well do the doctors speak english?

What is the health system like?

Choose Tzu Chi University in Hualien. I doubt that anybody can comment on the conditions at all the hospitals you listed, but Hualien is a beautiful place to live, and if you’ve only got a month here, I suspect that you will be much more productive in a place such as Hualien than in the middle of Taipei.

Overall, hospitals, doctors, and health care in Taiwan are all excellent. I’ve never actually been inside the Tzu Chi University, but it has an excellent reputation.

The big city hospitals vary, naturally. Some are much better than others. If I were you, I’d choose Tzu Chi.

[quote=“Raven”]How well do the doctors speak English?
[/quote]

They all seem to speak very good English. In fact, I seem to remember one of them telling me that they have to write all the notes in English.

[quote=“butcher boy”][quote=“Raven”]How well do the doctors speak English?
[/quote]

They all seem to speak very good English. In fact, I seem to remember one of them telling me that they have to write all the notes in English.[/quote]