Taiwan Public School Contract Questions - Vacation Policy

Hello All,

I am reviewing a contract for working in a Hsinchu public elementary school. I am new to teaching ESL and this will be my first time teaching in Taiwan. My contract says that while I have summer and winter vacation, I must work up to 15 class during that time if the school demands. Is this normal? Can I negotiate a higher pay for working during summer/winter vacations?

第五條:休假、請假
Article 5: Leave, Regular Holidays, and Application for Additional Leave

5.1 乙方享有國定放假日、例假日及寒暑假。唯甲方有權要求乙方參與職前訓練; 此外,甲方另有權要求乙方於寒暑假期間,每週至多進行相當於 15 節課之教學活動、教學計畫撰寫、學生英語社團活動、教師研習活動等。
5.1 Party B shall be entitled to the winter and summer vacations, in addition to national holidays and regular holidays. However, Party A shall have the right to demand that Party B participates in the orientation training program (pre-job training). In addition, Party A shall have the right to demand that Party B carries out up to fifteen (15) class periods per week during the winter and summer vacations. The work can include: English teaching activities, lesson plans writing, student English club, teachers’ workshops, and so on.

Secondly, concerning personal vacation days, is this the same as personal leave? My contract gives 14 days of personal leave that must either be made up or deducted from my salary if someone else teaches. Is that the norm as well?

事假:
外師經洽學校同意後,得就下列方式擇一辦理:
進行調課或補課,不扣薪(僅能於學校能夠提供課務調動之情形下才能為之)。
按節數扣薪(每節以新台幣609元計),其課務原則上由協同之中師負責。
Personal leave:
With the school’s approval, foreign teachers can take personal leave with either of the following options:

1. Teachers will choose other time available to make up their classes after returning from leave. There’s no salary deduction in this option. (Only when the school is able to provide class adjustments.)
  2. Classes will be substituted by the co-teachers. The salary will be deducted by NTD609 per teaching period.

Thank you!

事假 is the standard term for personal leave.