Taiwan Renter's Law

Hello fellow itinerants,

A buddy of mine who was here this past semester studying law at Taida was talking to one of his professors about renting here in Taiwan.

His professor said that even though one’s lease has run out (i.e. the year is up), the rentee does not have to leave. So long as you keep paying rent and do not trash the place, you can stay. The prof. says it goes back to old feudal days of yon. Since it is an inconvenience for someone to have to find a new place to live, one cannot be put out on the street.

I am not a lawyer, nor a frequent visitor to these boards and do not know if this topic has been addressed in the past. If it has I apologize. If it hasn’t, does anyone know anything about this?

Part of me thinks this professor was taking the piss out of my buddy, but another part thinks that in this great, crazy place we live, it may just be the case.

Thanks in advance for your help.

I hope this fuedal sytem can stop the landlord phoning up some of his/her friends and the guys arriving at your door with baseball bats

I thought the lease was just like a minimum period you were committing to. Am I wrong? I’m in my last month now and my landlord said mothing about haing to leave ro renew the lease. I hope I’m not going to be homeless in a few weeks.

Bri

I know that you can stay for some time after the lease is up even if it is not renewed, though not for how long.

A friend of mine let his apartment to a family that simply wouldn’t move when the lease was up, even though my friend didn’t renew it.

In the end he got rid of them because they didn’t pay the rent, they tore the place apart, and they abused some of the neighbors during their loud late-night drinking sessions.

Even so, it still took him several months to get the legal right to kick them out the door, and after that he was stuck with a worn-down apartment to fix up.