Taiwanese Making Fun of Foreigners in Chinese

I know that’s a broad topic but I have a few questions and a personal story (don’t worry, it’s funny). My first question is to those who understand Chinese well enough to know when you’re being made fun of: what do you do about it? Ever embarassed anyone wicked? Ever gotten into a fight because of it? Anyone here never done anything at all? Anybody never had it happen to them?

What kind of insults do they say about you? Funny? Mean?

Now for me…I was only in Taiwan for three short months :frowning: but I got to experience enough of this. Noone made fun of my physical appearance except to say that I’m tall, which I don’t think is an insult. Usually negative comments would be when I’m with my wife (Taiwanese born, raised in America), and she steps off to the bathroom or something. Then I’d hear the “just another foreigner with a Taiwanese girl” spiel. But there was this one time at the Aikido/Judo room at Shi-Da…

I studied TaeKwonDo for three years in the US, and we always bowed whenever we entered or left the training room…PERIOD. It wasn’t optional. I assumed this to be an Asian custom in martial arts training in general, so when I started taking the Aikido classes there I continued this practice (after a few times realized that nobody did it though, and stopped). Anyways, it was something like my second or third day there, and I got there super early to stretch out and practice my falls. While I was practicing a group of xiaojies came in and sat down on the dojo mat itself, and brought out food and drinks! That was enough of an insult to the dojo to piss me off something fierce, but they weren’t practioners so I let it go. As I stepped off the mat, I bowed and they looked at each then said, “Huanying Guanglin!” loudly and laughed. I used the restroom and came back, bowed again, and sure enough they all said “Huanying Guanglin!” again.