Tax Rate

I’ve been working legally for a little over 6 months now (although I’ve been living in Taiwan longer) and had my tax deducted at 20%. Now it’s past 6 months but my boss is still deducting the tax at the higher rate. He says it’s because I left for a holiday less than 6 months ago, so I haven’t been here for the 183 days (details: got ARC 9/2000, left 12/2000 returned a month later 1/2001).

I don’t think he’s cheating me, he’s just a bit clueless i think. Or is he right? How is it figured. Also does anyone have a phone number for English service at the tax department, so I can ring and check myself?

Bri

You won’t get a penny back for the tax year 2000, but you should get some (figure half, my employer withholds 10%) back for 2001.

You have to file a tax return sometime early next year. There should be plenty of posts about this subject elsewhere on this forum. The tax office in Taipei should be very friendly

The taxable year is January 1st to December 31st. Hence, regarding the 183 day figure, you have to be inside the country for 183 days in a year (or more) to be taxed at the lower rate.

Even if you are in the country every day beginning from January 1st, you do not reach the 183 day figure until early July.

However, if you qualify for this so-called (under the Income Tax Law) “resident” status, then you can carry that status directly into the following year, if you continue to live in Taiwan.

Do the 183 days have to be continuous? I was in Taiwan for over 183 days in the previous tax year, but not working for 183 days. Do I qualify? I’m still confused.

PS What is the lower rate anyway?

Bri

The 183 days are cumulative, not consecutive.

The lower rate would generally be 10% or less.

What is meant by the “…or less” bit? Can you qualify for a tax rate lower than 10%???

One more thing, but should I be taxed AFTER or BEFORE all the insurance deductions??

Here is the Taiwan Tax Guide for Foreigners,
I combined the English with the Chinese.