Taxi driver / foreign spouse

As I have an ARC based on marriage I’m allowed to work here in Taiwan. I was asking my wife what work do they have here in Taiwan and my wife said that the only work would be to drive a taxi, especially here in Kinmen.

What documents are needed to become a taxi driver here in Taiwan? Would an ARC combined with a regular domestic Taiwanese driving licence be enough? In my home country Thailand I know that a regular domestic car driving license wouldn’t be enough to become a taxi driver. A special taxi driving license is required to become a taxi driver. I guess that here in Taiwan it’s similar to Thailand, isn’t it?

2 Likes

Your English is really good, how’s your Chinese?

I believe you need a “professional driver’s license”, and foreign spouses can apply according to this information

Whether having a license would mean it’s actually feasible or the best option for you to drive a taxi in Kinmen is another question, no clue.

3 Likes

I studied the website using Google Translate and it seems that due to the written test I would have to learn Mandarin first. I can speak some Teochew though as my grandfather was born in Shantou but unfortunately Taiwan’s official language is Mandarin. My wife is claiming that she never heard Mandarin until she was about 7 years old so why they are using Mandarin in Taiwan as an official language is another question.

Well, there’s a political history to it, but it’s true. Kinmen is Hokkien speaking historically, I imagine you could get by with it there including at government agencies, if you could speak it, but not sure. I understand Teochew is quite different. For the written test you will need written Chinese, whether or not you can speak Mandarin seems kind of besides the point.

1 Like

I’m surprised there is a test.

I’ve met taxi drivers who don’t speak Mandarin, and taxi drivers who can’t read. Sometimes they can’t do either.

4 Likes