Teach Taiwan Recruiting/Public Schools

I’m a certified k-12 teacher in Australia who’s previously taught EFL in China and South Korea (I’ve since got my masters in ps teaching since returning to Sydney, I also have a tefl certificate). I’ve been offered public ESL school work by Teach Taiwan however the salary appears low ; I maybe wrong but wasn’t it much higher at some point (85000-90000twd, maybe i’m wrong)? I know buxibans pay around 55000-65000 I think.

The offer for me is 70000twd + 5000 twd for accommodation. Has anyone here worked at a public school or for this recruiter (are they ok)? I know I can consider international school positions however I have no desire to do so (workload and behaviour management has driven me crazy in Sydney however esl with kids is fine). For those who have taught in China and Taiwan (or Korea and Taiwan); is Taiwan more relaxing/intense?
I appreciate any advice as I’m also considering offers in China and Saudi Arabia with adults (I’m only considering Taiwan as it’s somewhere new for me, I briefly visited Taipei 10 years ago for 24 hours so I don’t really know anything).

NT$5,000 might get you a coffin room in Taipei with others in the same circumstance in the same apartment.
Kind of pathetic accommodation amount for Taipei. You may ask them about this.

2 Likes

Some of our teacher friends might be able to give you more insight into the work environment here and possibly in China.

Regarding Saudi Arabia, you will be able to save a large part of your salary. There are only limited forms of entertainment available and you won’t be able to interact, let alone date, with the opposite sex (if you are so inclined). On the positive side, you’ll be able to find food from all over the world in the supermarkets - none of these “Where can I find Greek Yogurt/Cottage Cheese/Alcohol-free Beer/Lentils/Beans/(enter whatever else)?” problems you get in Taiwan or Korea.