Teacher with Bachelor of Education -Pay is?

Hi!

I am a teacher going to Taiwan from Canada in November. I graduated with a B.Ed degree from University of Toronto and have taught in the Public school system for 6 years, music and grade 7/8.
What is the rate of pay for a teacher with lots of experience, a Education degree and is willing to stay until July 2005 in Taiwan?
I know the pay should be different if you teach at a Kindergarden, Public school system or buxiban.
Ideally, I would like to teach at a Kindergarden.

I would appreciate any help or suggestions,
Thanks!

I’d say that although most kindergarten bosses would be extremely happy to have someone with with a Bachelor of Education, the amount of extra money you’ll be able to command would be negligent. Ballpark figure $NT66K if you’re lucky, then take away your tax. You might be better of looking at the Elementary Schools. My previous Elementary had starting off salaries of $NT72K (NO TAX as it’s private) providing you have any degree and a TEFL/RSA CELTA. Having an Education degree would give you about another $NT2K a month I presume.

Hi!

Thanks for your advice.
How do you apply for an Elementary school in Taipei? School by school or is there a central board? Also, I would be applying in November. That might be a problem as schools have started already.
Also, how did you find the teaching conditions in the school you taught in?

Thanks!

Another option for you would be an international school. These schools require certified teachers. The students are either children of foreign nationals or of dual passport holders.

There are several in Taipei such as Taipei American School and Taipei British School. In Taichung, there’s Lincoln American School and I think Morrison Academy is one as well.

I think pretty much any place you sign up with is going to want you to stay for at least a year, though.

[quote]Thanks for your advice.