Teacher's license vs MA?

Hi everyone,

Been lurking for a couple of weeks, but first time posting. ^.^;

I’m currently teaching in Japan, but considering the move to Taiwan. I’m Taiwanese-born and also hold a New Zealand passport. I have 5+ years experience working in a private school (junior high/high school), a B.A. & B.Sc. (psychology & biology), and an online TEFL cert. I haven’t lived in Taiwan since I was 3, but I can speak/understand Mandarin fairly fluently in terms of daily life, but I can’t really read/write, or understand more advanced vocab.

I was interested in some more recent opinions on whether a teacher’s license or a master’s would be more useful when job hunting in Taiwan. I saw that some job listings have things like ARPC or marriage visa’s are ok in lieu of a teacher’s license. I can only guess that for some schools they can’t get visas unless you have a teacher’s license, but would still employ you if you didn’t have a license provided you have residency. If this is the case, is a Master’s a better option for me?

I was looking into master’s programs in both Taiwan and New Zealand. They’re cheaper in Taiwan (plus cheaper cost of living of course), but I’m not sure how widely recognised they would be. For the teacher’s license, I would have to relocate back to NZ, study for a year, and try to get the licensing sorted. NZ recently changed their licensing so that it has to be renewed once a year. I’m not sure what the process for renewing the license is and whether it would be useful or not.

Would love to hear your opinions or advice.

Teacher’s license is much more useful as it’s what most jobs are looking for. You’ll get paid more money as well.
Teacher’s license will allow you to work at private international schools or the public schools. Both decent jobs with good pay.

Some private schools might hire you with just an MA, but certified international schools need the license.