Teaching and research at a university

Hi,
First of all I’m new to the forum, have read a couple of threads and I’m amazed about how useful this forum is to Taiwan freshmen! February 2014 I hope to go to Taiwan and would like to work there for six months to get some international experience. Right now I’m kinda in the dark about how to find a job over there. Organizations in the Netherlands recommend English teaching (TEFL) and voluntary work, but have little concrete ideas about other (paid) jobs. My idea is to teach at a (private) university or assist in research (I have a research master degree in clinical and health psychology). So far my plan is to just e-mail them and hope for the best. What do you recommend? Any other candidate jobs I should look at? A second thought may be contacting an international organization established in Taiwan… As far as my Mandarin goes I’m at basic-average level.

Thanks for any comment :slight_smile:

1. Is the Netherlands classed as an “English-speaking country” by the ROC? I’m guessing no, but I don’t know for sure. If it is not, you cannot get a legal English teaching job.

2. Six months for any job in Taiwan is kinda short. I doubt you’re going to get a job teaching at any university with only an MA and for that short a period of time. You might get some sort of fellowship or unpaid internship, but then you’d have to answer the question “why are you so outstanding that you should be chosen over people who are fluent in Mandarin and local”? (I’m not begin negative about you – you could be amazingly fantastic – but I’m just telling you how I anticipate people thinking.) A non-Taiwanese requires a lot of paperwork, and for six months that might not be viewed as desirable unless there were some terrific advantage to having you personally.