Teaching at a Public High/Junior High School tips

I have been teaching in Taiwan for several years now.

When I first taught here I was doing the Kindy thing. I really enjoyed it but the whole thing about it being illegal wasn’t agreeing with me.

I moved down to Jiayi 5 months ago or so. Now I am working for a company that is contracted to find teachers for one of the public schools here. I teach Junior High years 1 and 2 and High school year 2.

Now of course this classroom situation is totally different than I have had in the past. I have between 40 and 50 people in each of my classes. I only see each class once a week (except for the High School class of whom I see twice a week).

At first things were going OK. I was the new face in the class and they were farily well behaved. Now it seems as if they are getting bored. One of the classes is totally out of control.

Does anyone have any ideas about how to teach such classes. I have one book to work with and the students’ levels are really mixed. Some can’t answer when I ask them their name. The book is too difficult for 70% of the class.

I am looking for ideas about how to make classes more interesting. Like games. But with 50 kids it seems like games might be difficult to properly manage.

I would appreciate any advice. Thanks

LBT, try breaking them into groups. That’s what I used to do with huge sr high school classes. Give them a project to do as a group. Sure the slower ones won’t do much, but the class will run much smoother.

How is the grading system set up?

I’ll try that. I am limited to teaching from the book though so I am fairly limited as to how much of the work I can do with them in groups.

For example, today we did a lesson on occupations. There were about 20 pictures of different jobs and on top listed the 20 jobs by name. They had to match the pic to the job.