Teaching at Gloria or other buxibans

I decided a couple of months ago to teach English in Taiwan, starting in late August of this year. A bit of background, I have my four year diploma, and I will be traveling with a good friend and his girlfriend. I don’t know any Chinese, and have never traveled abroad. For this reason, I decided that I would prefer finding a job in Taiwan before arriving.

I was offered a contract by Gloria English School, and have already accepted, against the (common) advice given on these forums. While this may turn out to be a poor decision, I am not extremely picky, nor extremely worried about the circumstances that I will be working. My only requirements are that I make enough money to live, and my health and legal status are not threatened. And frankly, not being a seasoned traveler, I feel tremendously better knowing I will have someone picking me up at the airport, who will theoretically be taking me to a place where I can earn a paycheck.

I was wondering if there are any people that have any experiences working with Gloria, as I am going over there sight unseen. I did a quick search on these forums (and google, and other forums) and this is all I could find: [forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopic.ph … ght=gloria](Deportation of Illegal Teachers So the only thing I have read about them is that it is illegal to be teaching in multiple locations with an ARC, but the posts are dated from last year. Can anyone help me here? It seems like the buxibans are too common (from what I’m reading, anyway) to have teachers working at multiple branches risking deportation.

Additionally, my friends have accepted a contract at Australia Academic Circle, and have yet to be placed. We’re hoping that we can live in the same area (Taoyuan area). Does anyone know what the chances of this happening are? My friend said that they are likely to also be placed in Taoyuan, so I’m hoping he is correct.