Teaching Chinese to a group of absolute beginners

Note: This is an odd topic I realize but teaching Chinese and learning Chinese, in my case at least, are not such entirely distinct activities.

I am headed home for a bit and I would like to give my friends and family a Chinese class. Not too many of them are particularly interested but a few already have agreed to suffer my efforts as a favor to me. I told them that want to develop a system for teaching Chinese to adult native speakers of English. I will be able to secure an hour or so with the lot of them, a couple of hours with some others and maybe a bit of time each day with still others

Anyway, I am hoping that I can give them an introduction to Mandarin but more importantly to natural language learning, that is language that is presented in a way that the meanings of the words, expressions, sentences I teach will be obvious from the context (props/ body language) with loads of repetition and some sort of body movement associated with almost every word. At the end of each segment I ask then to translate from Chinese to English, which will be easy hopefully.

That’s basically what I want to do and have a couple of ideas how to start but thought I’d invite suggestions and look at those before commiting myself. Thanks.

Bob, bob, bob. You already know in your heart what to do… :smiley:

Use proper names and brand names to overcome the “we don’t know any words” problem.
Pick five words. Maybe:

HE ‘drink’ (straight, level high gesture like the “drinking problem” joke where you indicate you’re trying to drink through your forehead – it’s 1st tone after all, and this is memorable)

pIjiu ‘beer’ (upward motion of popping the tab top, then a low motion dropping the tab on the ground – not downward, this is 2+3 tones) (and for “standard” Chinese with a neutral tone, the upward tone on the pI is enough really). It’s easy to remember because if you drink too much beer, “you gotta pee, Joe!” :smiley: