Teaching English/French in a University/ College

Anyone have any tips, info or leads on getting a English or French teaching contract at a university or college?

I have a masters degree, which I understand is required, as well as a teaching degree.

Looking in Taipei or northern Taipei County.

Leo:

I don’t know if you are still looking for a university job, but here are a few links for finding work teaching at a college or university in Taiwan:

List of Universities
http://edir.yam.com/edu/sols/uscs/univ/

Job Links for Taiwan and other places in Asia
http://www.geocities.com/allhou/teachlinks.htm

Scott Sommers’ website
http://scottsommers.blogs.com

Michael Turton’s website
http://users2.ev1.net/~turton/teach_index.html

verbalkint,

I am not LeoWhite, however, as I was just searching for this kind of info, I am happy to find these links.

Anyone,

Does anyone have any advice for getting an English teaching job in a university. I have over 6 years of experience working in higher education in the US Though I wasn’t a professor, I taugh workshops, seminars, and used English extensively in the performance of my job. My first year in Taiwan, I taught English to a variety of age groups, though I preferred older (college age or older) students, with the occasional mature and/or motivated high schooler thrown in.

I’ve heard, as Leo said, that all you need to teach English in a uni is a master’s degree, which I have. However, a friend of mine is a Taiwanese English teacher in a local (Taipei) uni. Along with some links he recently provided for me, he mentioned that I would need a masters in something English related. Is this correct? Is it a requirement (i.e., absolutely necessary) to have an English-related master’s? I’m sure it would help, but wondered if it was a must.