Teaching English, German and/or French

Hi everyone,

I’m thinking about moving to Taiwan in about two years, but I’m not sure if that’s even an option given my qualifications and the fact that I’m not an English native speaker. I’m a 27-year-old German and I’m currently teaching English, French and philosophy in a German high school. Last year, I went to Taiwan for the first time and since I really enjoyed it, I was wondering if it’s possible for me to find a teaching position there. That would be either a position as an English teacher and/or as a German or French teacher.

I guess theoretically my qualifications are pretty good because in addition to my current teaching position in Germany, I have taught German in France and in the US. I’ve also done an internship with the Goethe-Institut Tokyo organizing cultural events and doing public relations, so I already have some work experience when it comes to East Asia. My university grades were pretty good and I studied on a national scholarship. My mother tongue is German, but I speak English and French fluently as well as basic Japanese. My English is not perfect of course, but I speak with an American accent and often even Americans think I’m from the Midwest (even though I lived in California…I guess it’s because Midwestern American English is basically the standard American accent).