Teaching English in Kindergartens

Hello. My name is Paul Carr. I’m a newbie here. I arrived in Taiwan on the 23rd of March. I’m looking for full-time work here. I am a university graduate and have a TEFL certificate. I worked on mainland China for 2 and a half years as an English language teacher. I’m looking for a year long contract job. I’m finding it difficult to find something suitable or maybe it’s just that I’m not looking hard enough.

I have some questions.

1. I understand it is illegal for foreigners to work in kindergartens. I was however offered a job where I would teach English to young kids aged 3 to 6 in the morning and older kids 6 to 11 in the afternoon. Would this sort of job be illegal? I presume teaching kids aged 3 to 6 is illegal? I’d be grateful for any clarification on this issue. I don’t want to work in an illegal job.

2. I am in Taipei at the moment. I was offered another part time job in Taipei. The school would however sponsor the ARC and work permit for me. I would work, I think, 3 classes/hours a day, 3 days a week. Each hour is 600 Taiwan dollars. I was wondering what is a living monthly wage in Taipei? How much can I survive on? How much is it to rent an apartment for example?

Thank you.

Paul Carr

If you don’t want to work illegally, that rules out kindergarten work.
Also, if an employer is providing you with an ARC, the government requires him to provide a minimum number of hours. I think it might be 14/week. Certainly a lot more than 9. NT$600/hour sounds about right.

[quote=“sandman”]If you don’t want to work illegally, that rules out kindergarten work.
Also, if an employer is providing you with an ARC, the government requires him to provide a minimum number of hours. I think it might be 14/week. Certainly a lot more than 9. NT$600/hour sounds about right.[/quote]

Hi sandman,

Thank you for your reply. Does 14 hours a week, NT$600 an hour provide a comfortable wage to live in Taipei? How much is it to rent an apartment?