Teaching English: My wife and I coming to Taiwan 2019

Hey Forumosa!

My wife and I are 28 years old and we live in Los Angeles (IDK if this matters but we are native English speakers and white, but it seems to come up on these forums that it’s beneficial). After my wife finishes her Master’s Degree next Spring, we want to move to Taiwan to teach English. I have Bachelor’s degree in English Literature and two years of substitute teaching experience (but I work in retail right now). I also have a 120-hour TEFL Certificate. My wife holds a Bachelors’ in Education, soon to have a Masters in Education Technology and 6 years of teaching experience (full time teacher 3rd & 5th grades).

We want to get jobs teaching English in Taiwan and ideally only will work part-time but I suppose full-time is not out of the question. We both want to do this for the experience and the traveling. Also, I have been studying Mandarin for 2 years and want to increase my fluency so working part-time would be good for exploring other interestes, I think.

Basically, I just want to know more about how you all found teaching jobs, living situations (ideally we have 1br apartment for the two of us, no roommates). I have done some research on jobs via CIEE, Teach Abroad, Uproot, and Language Corps but from what I read on these forums is that it might be better to use something like TeaLit.com or Dave’s ESL Cafe to find teaching positions.

Do you recommend getting the job locked down before we arrive or conducting the search after we are in Taiwan? Also, is NT$660/hr a good wage to look for? And how will we be paid, bi-weekly check or direct deposit? Can we haggle for a higher wage, given our experiences? What is the difference between buxiban, private, and public schools?

Thank you for all your help. I am doing this research well in advance of our departure (June-August 2019) so there is enough time to figure out details.