Teaching ESL as a non-native speaker... Advice?

Hi everyone, I will be grateful for some advice.

Where and how a non-native speaker of English could find work teaching English in Taiwan? Are any particular schools less ‘fussy’ about someone being native? Should I apply speculatively to schools who list being a native speaker as a requirement or would that never work?
Obviously I do have a bit of an accent, not a very strong one, and a British person will be able to tell I am not native and say I was from Europe, however people who do not live in an English speaking country, and aren’t too fluent, are not usually able to tell.

About me:
I am not a native speaker of English, however I think I am as close to it as one can get - I hold a degree in English from a university in my home country. Right now I am working towards an LLB (Law) degree in Britain. I will graduate this summer, and then plan to move on to do a TESOL course offered at my current university.
I do not have any teaching experience. I have experience in marketing (PR) in the third sector in my home country. My reasons for relocating to Taiwan are personal: my other half wants to pursue career in engineering there. I am considering all options, I thought teaching would be a possibility, maybe something to start.

Unless your other half is a Taiwanese national and you get married, you can’t teach. Period!
You will not be able to get an arc without a passport from a recognised English speaking country.

[quote=“bigduke6”]Unless your other half is a Taiwanese national and you get married, you can’t teach. Period!
You will not be able to get an arc without a passport from a recognised English speaking country.[/quote]
This has been discussed here before and it is not entirely true. Be sure that you check if your country of origin is on the government’s list and even then it’s muddy waters.

Thanks for the replies so far, would love to hear more comments.