Teaching through rhythm

What’s the drum game?

1 Like

I was mildly interested in the phonics chant (which I can guess), but my interest piqued with the drum game.

The drum game challenges you to follow the rhythm.

It is part memory game part tempo/rhythm. Must keep time in your head as the game get progressively more difficult.

I used the video because there was a large circle of drummers and my very young learners could easily understand what was going on. Monkey see monkey do.

I’m an English teacher not a drum circle teacher.

The kids were all playing improvised percussion instruments.

I’m not the best teacher. I’m part clown/idiot/entertainer/singer/smartass/sillyass etc… I am great with kids. They love me. They think I’m crazy. The mommies love me. They think I would make a great pet.

There is always someone better.

I’ve got a very unique skill set.

4 Likes

I use jazz chants and a djembe for teaching sentence rhythm to adults, was hoping you might have something I could add to that lesson but if it is just a regular drum circle with no language outcome i guess not

2 Likes

I’ve never had to teach absolute beginners to read, allah be praised

Yes. You could use this to teach sentence patterns. Here you go -

I love eating ice cream.

So you have a beat for each syllable.

So the drum circle would hit on the last syllable. They follow the sentence being said and hit on the syllable you tell them.

Change the syllable they hit on. Add hits.

Change the sentence.

Remove words but keep the same rhythm.

Replace the words with your own hits so instead of words use hits for them to follow the same sentence pattern in their head.

This was a video the kids had only watched 2 or 3 times. It was a challenge for me to hit the beats correctly.

The phonics class I observed by one of their seasoned teachers - had been there for years - it was obvious the kids had seen the video a dozen times already. They could sing it backwards and forwards.